Artists Book Ideas

Off I go on a mission looking at designs and books already made by artists.

I find a lot of beautiful ideas, Su Blackwell, Creates Book art as well as installations and other art pieces, sometimes for commission and other times fulfilling her own designs.

Signed prints of her Book art- are available for Sale in her online shop. The Baron in the Trees, as a Signed, limited edition print of a book art piece is priced at £114. All are limited edition, signed prints and most are sold out – This shows that not only is there a strong market for the Book art itself, but also for its uses as prints , either on there own merit or used as designs for Greetings cards, stationary or fabric prints, which she also sells in her online store, albeit fabric design is a new venture for her,  it seems to be doing well, as the SOLD OUT tag suggests.

 

 ‘Wild Flowers’ Liberty print fabric £18 per metre – SOLD OUT. :
Liberty Art Fabric ‘Wild Flowers’Liberty Art Fabric ‘Wild Flowers’
Out of stock
£18.00
Liberty Art Fabric ‘Wild Flowers’
Wild Flowers is Su Blackwell’s first design for Liberty Art Fabrics. A delicate, summery print that encaptures both Su Blackwell’s detailed paper cut-outs, and Liberty’s iconc style.

Liberty Tana Lawn is made from the highest quality cotton, and is a durable but soft material ideal for clothesmaking and home crafting.

100% Cotton Lawn

DIMENSIONS: 1m x 1.36m 76g/sqm

Out of stock
£18.00
Liberty Art Fabric 'Wild Flowers'

Wild Flowers is Su Blackwell’s first design for Liberty Art Fabrics. A delicate, summery print that encaptures both Su Blackwell’s detailed paper cut-outs, and Liberty’s iconc style.

Liberty Tana Lawn is made from the highest quality cotton, and is a durable but soft material ideal for clothesmaking and home crafting.

100% Cotton Lawn

DIMENSIONS: 1m x 1.36m 76g/sqm

Excerpt above taken directly from Sublackwell.com accessed on several occasions between November 10th 2015 and  January 9th 2016.

 

images (4)

So not only is Book art widely varied in its form and design, it is also used in many areas beyond its own. This not only means that Book Art itself is widely marketable but that it can also create further revenue when transferred to a digital image. tumblr_inline_mjwudtf1jQ1qz4rgp

The detail and colour in this last piece is truly amazing, It is a pure delight and I really admire the amount of work that went into it.

I have to thank Google, rather humbly for helping me find these images but alas, it is fairly difficult to locate where the original items came from! Still its ideas, so I collect them 🙂

Then , me being me, went off on a bit of a tangent and decided to look at other paper creations, ‘beyond the book’ lol, and here’s what I found, again in Google,

“I use books from the beginning of the last century. Take them apart, tear, cut and paste small pieces of paper together. The pages are reassembled into new objects. Eggshell thin, yet remarkably steady. The story lives on, but in a different shape.” Cecilia Levy- Direct quote taken from http://www.cecilialevy.com/my-paper-art – site accessed on several occasions between November 10th 2015 and January 9th 2016.

Cecilia Levy
Link to site :   Cecilia Levy
Cecilia Levy
Cecilia Levy

images (2)

Now I am very confused where to begin, all these images are fantastic and brilliant, but none contain wood, which I really would like to include, then I stumble across this wonderful sculpture of a treehugger!

images (6)

Fantastic effect, I am taken aback by the figures appearance, he looks as natural as the tree does! The way the, (unknown) artist has created this truly brilliant piece, is a mystery.

But do I really want to create Book art, based on a design probably done a million times over in one way or another? I go back to Matisse as I remember he created his own Artists book ‘Jazz’ aha! I can do this, I love it, colour, boldness, life!

Matisse created a very colourful and original Artists book, entitled ‘Jazz’ in 1943-44

“The project that apparently legitimized cut paper as a medium for Matisse was Jazz, Commissioned by Teriade in 1942, and issued in 1947.” – direct excerpt taken from page 321.

Millard, C.W. 1978, The Matisse Cut-Outs, Hudson Review, Inc, New York, N.Y. Staffordshire Library ‘Hudson Review’

jazz 1

Jazz - Matisse
Jazz – Matisse
Jazz - Matisse
Jazz – Matisse
Jazz - Matisse
Jazz – Matisse

Matisse himself was inspired by the circus and  I think this more suited to my style of art production, although I am still unsure if I actually wish to create an actual book at all. If I do I would like to think that Matisse would be my main inspiration for its composure. I will continue to experiment further with sculptural ideas rather than printing ones.

Leave a Reply

